Cement - Types of Cement


Types of Cement

There are 27 types of common Cement which can be grouped into 5 general categories and 3 strength classes: ordinary, high and very high.  In addition, some special Cements exist like sulphate resisting cement, low heat cement and calcium aluminate cement.

The most commonly used cement types for general construction work are:

  • Ordinary Portland Cement (OPC):  32.5, 42.5, 52.5 grade (OPC)
  • Portland Pozzolana Cement (PPC):  Both Fly Ash and Calcined Clay based
  • Portland Slag Cement (PSC)

Special cements are cements that are manufactured for specific applications where normal cements may not be able to perform satisfactorily. Some of the special Cements that are commonly used are:

  • White Portland Cement
  • Sulphate Resisting Portland Cement (SRC)
  • Rapid Hardening Portland Cement
  • Low Heat Portland Cement
  • Hydrophobic Cement
  • Calcium aluminate cement
  • Masonry or Mortar Cement
  • Oil-Well Cement